Showing posts with label Cornetu. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Cornetu. Show all posts

Cornetu Monastery

Cornetu Monastery is located on Olt River Valley, Călineşti village (now part of Brezoi town), Vâlcea County, Wallachia, Romania. Initially a skeet for monks, it was transformed in a convent for nuns. The dedication day of the monastery is The Beheading of Saint John the Baptist, 29 of August. In Romanian, Cornetu signifies a forest of European Cornel (Cornus mas) trees.

The monastery has a characteristic, probably unique in the world: the railway passes under it! When the railway was built through the Olt Gorges in the late 19th century, because of the narrow space it was decided to construct the embankments under the church.


The hermitage was built by marele vornic Mareş Băjescu and his wife Maria, great feudal close to the Cantacuzino (or Cantacuzène) family. He choose the place carefully, on one hand near his domains, on other hand near Transylvania, thus providing an ideal refuge for the founder and his family in harsh times to come. According to the original dedication inscription (Romanian: pisanie) carved in stone, the works were finished on August 29, 1666, during the reign of Radu Leon (1664-1669). Mareş Băjescu transferred to the hermitage the possession of Copăceni village, Saşa and Cornetu mountains, as well as some terrains in Pripoare, Titeşti, Ostrov villages.


In 1761, during the reign of Constantin Mavrocordat, a certain Alecse căpitan za Lovişte ordered to recover the altar painting, work done by painters Mihai, Iordache and Radu - as is said in another inscription located in the southeast corner of the nave. Another important moment in the history of the worship place is the 1808 fire, which almost completely destroyed the church and the cells, for a period the monastic life being interrupted. Only in 1835 the new abbot Irimah recovered the buildings and murals. During 1864-1949, the church was administered by Eforia Spitalelor Civile of Bucharest, which in 1885 financed the construction of the oak iconostasis, and a year later the painting of the wooden icons. Between 1923-1925, in cooperation with the Department of Monuments, were restored the dome of the tower and the shrine destroyed by shells during WWI (the fights of 1916).


In 1898, when it was dug the tunnel under the walls of the monastery site, the Department of Railways demolished a part of the old wall and the annex cells, building later the present ones. Were preserved the watchtower, the tower and the walls on north and east sides. The last major renovation was in 1960, under the patronage of Directorate of Historic Monuments, when was restored the mural painting.


The complex is surrounded by a square stone; on three corners of the enclosure rises polygonal towers and on the southeast corner is a pavilion. In the middle of the enclosure is the church, the only that kept its original form. Built on a three-lobed plan, it has a bell tower with eight sides over the narthex and the 'Pantocrator' tower with ten sides and narrow windows over the nave. The wall is from horizontal rows of visible bricks between plaster panels, divided by a double belt of rounded brick, that surrounds the niche of the icon of dedication on the western facade. The cornice is made of brick arranged in the shape of saw teeth, with a row of buttons below it and a frieze of glazed tiles framed by bricks set on edge. The pedestal is made of boulders in brick boxes.


Important architectural monument of 17th century, the monastery is considered by scholar N. Ghika-Budeşti as "one of the most interesting and the most picturesque of the time, as architecture".

Olt Valley

There is a place in Romania where nature has managed to stay unspoiled by civilisation, where a whirling river is flowing through spectacular gorges, and its banks boast centuries old churches and many spas, where people can find peace of mind and a perfect place to rest their bodies. The Olt Valley is one of the most spectacular and beautiful areas in Romania, country's uppermost, between Căpăţânii, Lotru and Făgăraş mountains.


Olt River rise close to the headwaters of the Mureş River in eastern Transylvania (Hăşmaş Mountains) at an elevation 1,800 m. It is 496 km long (the longest Romania's interior river) and flows south through the southern Carpathian Mountains to enter the Danube River near Turnu Măgurele, opposite Nikopol. There are several resorts and spas along its course through the mountains.

The panoramic view of the Olt Valley is fascinating both in summer and winter time and has been a place of interest for 2000 years now. The river was known as Alutus or Aluta in Roman antiquity. During the conquest of Dacia, the Romans settled in the valley and built a road and fortresses. Actually, until 1990, one could see traces of a vineyard, dating back to the first century AD, when Sarmisegetuza was Dacia’s capital. What is still left are the ruins of the Romanian Castrum, where people gather on feasts and celebration days because they love to spend time amidst the nature they are so proud of.


The Olt Valley stretches from the Cozia Monastery up to the gorges. Cozia Veche (Old Cozia) is the entrance point to the Olt Gorges. The 80 km long route between the south and the north of the country, trough Carpathians, is accessible on the National Road 7 or European Road 81. The Cozia National Park covers both banks of the Olt River, and the scenery is breathtakingly beautiful. The departure point is Căciulata, passing through Cozia, by the Cozia Monastery, erected by ruler Mircea the Old. Worth visiting is also the Old Cozia, near the Basarab Mountain; then cross the river on the dam of the Turnu power plant. This is actually the first hydro power plant built on the Olt River and also the largest. On the right bank of the river one can visit the Arutela Castrum and the Arutela tourist complex. The trip can continue with a walk, through the forest, to the Turnu Monastery, and then to the Stănişoara Monastery. If you like mountaineering, it is worth taking a walk to the Cozia and Turnu Monasteries. Both are isolated in the Cozia Mountains, which are beautiful irrespective of season. In summertime, they are all shiny and green, while in autumn the range of colours is rich in shades of green, red and yellow.


Twenty kilometers north, we find the Cornet Monastery, and after some other twenty kilometers we reach Turnul Spart (The Broken Tower), remains of fortifications of custom between Wallachia and Transylvania. At the end of the Olt Gorges we can admire Turnu Roşu (the Red Tower), a castle of the Austrian empress Maria Tereza.